Adviser on the Edge

careers in island communities: research, theory and practice

Wanted: Men and / or Engineers….

Leave a comment

 Image courtesy of stockimages at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Wanted: men and engineers. Preferably both! Can you help? Image courtesy of stockimages at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

I have been doing some initial analysis on the responses to the survey for my PhD. So far I have responses from 71 final year undergraduates from Orkney and Shetland, which I reckon is about half of the total number of eligible students. So that’s not too bad…! Thank you to everyone who has taken part so far…

What I did notice, however, is that only 11 men have taken part in the survey, compared to 60 women. Now, I know more women go to university than men, but this difference is quite marked – the proportion of women to men going to university from Shetland is about 2:1 but my survey responses are about 6:1….

The other thing I noticed is that I have no responses from people studying engineering. This is quite surprising given that engineering is one of the more popular subjects of study of students from the Northern Isles. It is perhaps the case that the two areas are interrelated – with more men typically studying engineering than women.

So, what am I getting at? Well, It would be great if even more final year undergraduates from Orkney and Shetland could fill in my survey, but I particularly need responses from men and from engineers…. Can anyone help….??

Leave a Reply

